In a remarkable display of expertise and innovation, Team Airost from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) secured the championship title for the second consecutive year, and the third time at the National Instruments Autonomous Robotics Competition 2023 (NIARC 2023). The highly anticipated event took place at Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) Engineering Campus in Nibong Tebal on November 18, 2023. 

NIARC 2023, themed “Robots in Manufacturing Industry: Direct Dispatch,” is a prestigious student robotics competition sponsored by NI Malaysia, in collaboration with USM, marking its fifth year of fostering learning, development, and innovation among university students in the field of robotics.

Commencing in May 2023 and concluding in late November, the competition attracted 15 qualifying teams from eight esteemed local institutions of higher learning. Participating institutions included UTM, USM, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP), Penang Skills Development Centre (PSDC), Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) and Kolej Poly-Tech MARA (KPTMara).

Team Airost, demonstrating exceptional skills and determination, emerged victorious after navigating through a challenging series of rounds. The competition structure comprised three Qualifying Rounds (Round-Robin) followed by three Championship Rounds (Knockout). The team’s unwavering commitment was evident as they advanced to the Finals and ultimately defeated their opponent, securing a well-deserved prize of RM 5,000.

Team Airost and Team Aces (from left to right)

UTM showcased its formidable presence by fielding two competitive teams in NIARC 2023 – Team Airost and Team Aces. Under the guidance of distinguished faculty members, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Yeong Che Fai led Team Airost. Dr Yeong is from the Control and Mechatronics Engineering Department (CMED), Faculty of Electrical Engineering. He is also one of the members of CAIRO UTM. Meanwhile Ir. Dr. Fauzan Khairi bin Che Harun supervised Team Aces. He is from Electronics and Computer Engineering (ECE), Faculty of Engineering The participating students hailed from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Faculty of Computing. 

This triumphant victory not only solidifies UTM’s position as a powerhouse in autonomous robotics but also highlights the university’s commitment to nurturing talent and fostering a culture of innovation in the ever-evolving field of robotics. Team Airost’s success in NIARC 2023 adds another chapter to UTM’s legacy of excellence in autonomous robotics competitions, setting the stage for future breakthroughs and achievements in the field.

Team AIROST (Champion)

1.     Ammar Bin Jamalludin (Software Engineering 3rd Year)

2.     Wong Li Jie (Software Engineering 3rd Year)

3.     Leong Cheng Onn (Biomedical Engineering 2nd Year)

4.     Ng Jing Yi (Software Engineering 3rd Year)

5.   Chen Pyng Haw (Data Engineering 2nd Year)

Supervisor: Associate Professor Dr Yeong Che Fai (CMED, FKE and CAIRO UTM).

Team Aces

1.      Lua Wen Yinn (Electrical Engineering 3rd Year)

2.      Choo Zhen Yi (Electrical Engineering 3rd Year)

3.      Wong Wen Xin (Electrical Engineering 3rd Year)

4.      Chong Lee Jun (Electrical Engineering 3rd Year)

Supervisor: Ir. Dr. Fauzan Khairi bin Che Harun (ECE, FKE)

All the participants of NIARC 2023

Research Ecosystem
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia UTM Nexus - Research & Innovation

Office of Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research & Innovation)

DVCRI Profile Johor Bahru Office Kuala Lumpur Office

Higher Institution Centre of Excellence (HI-COE)

Advance Membrane Technology Research Centre - AMTEC Institute of Noise & Vibration - INV Wireless Communication Centre - WCC

Research Institute

Centre of Excellence (COE)

Institute of High Voltage & High Current - IVAT UTM-MPRC Institue for Oil & Gas - IFOG Centre for Artificial Intelligence & Robotics - CAIRO Centre for Engineering Education - CEE Centre for Advanced Composite Materials - CACM Innovation Centre in Agritechnology for Advanced Bioprocessing - ICA Institute of Bioproduct Development - IBD

Service Entity

Research Management Centre - RMC Penerbit UTM Press Centre for Community & Industry Network - CCIN Innovation & Commercialisation Centre - ICC University Laboratory Management Centre - PPMU Institut Sultan Iskandar - UTM-ISI

Get the latest news & events

Customer Satisfaction Index